Top facebook2x Top phone2x 01865 522502 Top email2x Email us Top subscribe2x Subscribe Top search2x Basket Login Join
Home / News / RS 200 SW Ugly Tour Round 2 - Open at SCSC
Home / News / RS 200 SW Ugly Tour Round 2 - Open at SCSC

RS 200 SW Ugly Tour Round 2 - Open at SCSC

1026029 orig
Published 18:06 on 12 May 2022

A total of 19 boats travelled from both sides of the country for the second round of the RS200 Ugly tour held at South Cerney Sailing Club in the Cotswold Water Park on Saturday 7th March.

A shifty north easterly wind meant that Race Officer, Gary Morris was able to set a windward leeward course that made maximum use of the lake, though the constantly moving wind direction made for exciting racing with frequent place changing.

In race one, the fleet got away cleanly at the first attempt, Nick Smith and Hannah Metcalfe-Smith (379) lead around the bottom mark at the end of the first lap but slipped to third by the end of the race, their best result of the day. Meanwhile Henry Hallam and Ashley Hill (1621) were carving their way up through the fleet from 8th on the first lap to take the gun with Cliff and Bec Milner (1289) second.

In the second race the fleet were more pushy resulting in a general recall, the second start was under the 'U' flag and this time the fleet got away cleanly. This time it was Matt Banbrook and Esther Heathcote (921) who lead at the end of the first lap but once again Nick Smith and Hannah (1621) fought their way to the front taking another bullet, with John Teague and Naomi Pound (1365) second and James Williams and Rose Hallam (1019) third.

After a well earned lunch, race three began under 'U' flag, unfortunately Henry Hallam (1621) and Ian Pickard (1165) were a little premature and had to sit this race out allowing Cliff and Bec Milner (1289) to narrowly take this race from John Teague and Naomi Pound (1365) with Chris Baker and Jenni Wyatt (1690) in third.

After a short break whilst the race committee adjusted the course the final race got underway, another close fought contest with Ioan Lavery and Clare Allen (1122) taking line honours with Henry Hallam and Ashley Hill (1621) second and Cliff and Bec Milliner (1289) third.


1st Henry Hallam and Ashley Hill (1621) - St Mawes SC- 4 points

2nd Cliff and Bec Milliner (1289) - Cotswold SC - 6 points

3rd John Teague and Naomi Pound (1365) - BCYC - 12 points

1St Youth

Matt Banbrook and Esther Heathcoate (921) - Bowmoor SC - 19points

Full results click here

Gary Morris - Commodore and Race Officer

1026025 1224x 1026027 1224x

Last updated 17:45 on 13 August 2022

© 2022 South Cerney Sailing Club powered by Sailing Club Manager