You are here

Our trophy cabinet

As the 2020 season gets underway, check out the silverware that you are competing for... 



Trophy Name Image Descriptionsort descending Recent Winners
Keith Fairweather Junior Trophy

For the Cadet crew who has acted as an ambassador for 96 Cadet Squadron, as well as demonstrating consistently high levels of skill and determination.

Part of Club History since 1959, initial use unknown.

2019 Monty Hampton and Jemima McMorris
2017 Emilia Hampton
2016 William Farrant
2015 Alice Folkard
2014 Max Buswell
2013 Aqil Jannaty
2012 Tima...

Attendance Award

For the Cadet sailor who attends the most Saturday sessions over the season.

2019 Emilia Hampton
2017 Francesca Neale
2016 Francesca Neale
2015 Not awarded
2014 Francesca Neale & Lewis Tull
2013 Rowan Connolly
2012 Fiona...

Flying Fifteen Open (Captain's Cup)

From 2016 The Captain’s Cup will be presented to the overall winner of the Flying Fifteen Open Meeting

This trophy has a long history with SCSC. It was donated by the SCSC Enterprise Class, and used for the Enterprise Points Series until 1981, then for the 'Cadet of The Year Award' from 1988 to 2005


2017 Bob Tait & Pete Comber (Broxbourne SC)
2016 Alex & Mike Tatlow

Cadet Class Captain's Medals

Introduced in the first time in 2017

Awarded at the sole discretion of the Class Captain, to recognise perseverance, ability, attitude and/or general contibutions


2017: Elisa Power; Thomas Pontet; Peter Oswell; Barry Bells; Jacob Wynn; Olivia Hedges; Jonty Conway; Jemima McMorris

Olympic Trophy (Junior)

Junior Olympic Trophy (need new photo with SCSC logo)

2019: Florence Hawker
2018: Max Buswell and Monty Hampton
2017: Ali Wallace
2016: Fran Neale & Emilia Hampton
2015: Not contested
2014: Not contested...

Talbot Cup (Junior)

Junior Talbot Cup

2019: Benjamin McLoughlin and Ava Roberts
2018: Max Buswell and Monty Hampton
2017: Max Buswell
2016: William Farrant
2015: Not contested
2014: Ali...

Lark Shield

Lark Shield

Awarded for General Handicap summer points

2019: Phil O'Nions
2018: Kevin Weatherhead
2017: Liz Macdonald
2016: Liz Macdonald
2015: Kevin Weatherhead
2014: Dave Whittle

The Rowden Trophy

Laser open trophy.  Part of club history since 1969.

Last SCSC Laser Open was in 2016

2016 Jon Ling (Bartley SC)
2015: Ed Higson (Bartley SC)
2014 Ed Higson (Bartley SC)
2013 Jon Ling (Bartley SC)

Mayfly Trophy

Mayfly Trophy - Flying Fifteen summer points

Awarded for this event since 1989

Part of Club history since 1961

2019: Derek Harrison and Tim Greaves/Jonny Stevenson
2018: Derek Harrison and Tim Greaves
2017: John Harvey & Barry Medwell
2016: Richard Taylor

Merlin Rocket Cup

Merlin Rocket Cup

Awarded for Solo summer points since 1998

Awarded within the club since 1965

2019: Blair Jamieson
2018: Blair Jamieson
2017: Blair Jamieson
2016: Blair Jamieson
2015: Andy Miles
2014: Guy Lonsdale

Olympic Trophy

Olympic Trophy

New Trophy donated by SCSC in 2012 to celebrate Olympic Year

2018: Dave Whittle and Jackie Vale
2017: Chris Jeffries
2016: John Hammond
2015: Andy Miles
2014: Liz Macdonald
2013: Andy Miles
2012: Alex Frost

GP14 Cup (RNLI Pursuit)

Originally awarded for GP14 class racing; part of club history since 1959

2019: Dave Whittle and various crew
2018: Nigel Dibb
2017: Chris Jeffries
2016: Kevin Weathehead
2015: Liz Macdonald
2014: Liz Macdonald

Ladies Cup

Part of Club History since 1960

Re-introduced 2015 to be awarded to the first Lady Runner Up in the Frostbite Series


2019: Not awarded
2018: Liz Macdonald
2017: Liz Macdonald
2016: Liz Macdonald
2015: Liz Macdonald

Henly Cup

Part of Club History since 1960

To be awarded to the winner of the Sunday Morning Frostbite Series from 2015

Frostbite Sunday am Handicap

2017: Richard Leftley
2016: Mike Round
2015: Ian Bartlett

Sunday am Handicap - Spring
2013: Phil O'Nions

Brass Monkey Cup

Part of Club History since 1975

Awarded in recent years to the winner of the Frostbite Series

From 2015 to be awarded to the Gentleman Runner Up

2019: Richard Leftley
2018: Andy Schaffner
2017: Chris Jeffries
2016: Chris Jeffries
2015: Mike Weeks

Winner Frostbite Series
2014: Andy Miles

Cadet Trophy Shield

Previously awarded for the Cadet Autumn points from 2002 to 2012. Not currently in use

2011 Louisa Coxson & Emma Quekett

Handicap Trophy

Reallocated in 2017 to the Vareo Autumn Points Series

Awarded for the first placed boat in the Autumn Handicap series from 2014 - 2016

2019: Not sailed
2018: Mark Caldecourt
2017: Kevin Weatherhead
2016: I Bartlett
2015: M Weeks
2014: M Weeks

Diamond Anniversary Trophy (Junior)

SCSC Diamond Anniversary Junior Event Winner

One-off for Anniversary

One off event in 2015: Aliya & Aqil Jannaty

Diamond Anniversary Trophy

SCSC Diamond Anniversary Senior Event Winner

One-off for Anniversary

One off event in 2015: Andy Miles

Corinium Cup

Senior Corinium Cup

2019: Guy Lonsdale
2018: Dave Whittle & Jackie Vale
2017: Chris Jeffries
2016: Guy Lonsdale
2015: Andy Miles
2014: Andy Miles

Aline Trophy - Junior

The Aline Junior trophy, part of the Cannon series

2018: Not Contested
2017: Max Buswell
2016 Not Contested
2015 Ali Wallace
2014 Aliya & Aqil Jannaty
2013. Catriona Wallace

Endeavour Award (Cadet)

The Cadet showing the greatest commitment to sailing and development of their sailing skills to an advanced level.

2019: Max Buswell
2018: Max Buswell
2017: Flo Hawker
2016: Aqil Jannaty
2015: Harry Folkard
2014: Aqil Jannaty
2013: Sophie Goodrich
2012: Aliya...

Reg Hamilton Cup

The Cadet who has embraced the spirit of the Cadets showing consideration and help for others.

Donated in 1996 as a Cadet Special Award

2019 Megan McMorris
2017 Fran Neale
2016 Harry Folkard
2015 Lewis Tull
2014 Reece Lane
2013 Lewis Lane
2012 Lizzie Wall
2011 Matt Sim

Chelmay Trophy (Charles Turtle Junior)

The Chelmay Trophy has been in use in the club since at least 1967. It has been used for the 'Cadet Helmsman of the Year' and also for the Cadet Chelmay Series up to 2007.

From 2016 it will be presented to the Junior Winner of the Charles Turtle Trophy Day, as the original trophy for this event has been lost

2019: Not contested
2018: Katya Davies-Smith
2017: Not contested
2016: Not Contested
2015: Not contested

Colburn Trophy

The Colburn Trophy has been in the club since around 1961, originally awarded for Enterprise Class racing,  then for the Cadet Colburn Series from 1988 - 2009

In 2015, awarded to the Junior winner of the Old George Trophy Day, part of the Cannon Series, the original trophy for this event having been lost.

Not awarded since 2016 as the Junior Old George trophy resurfaced...!

2016 Max Buswell & William Farrant
2015 Ali Wallace


Copyright © 2015 South Cerney Sailing Club Limited