You are here

Our trophy cabinet

As the 2020 season gets underway, check out the silverware that you are competing for... 



Trophy Name Image Description Recent Winnerssort descending
Cadet Trophy Shield

Previously awarded for the Cadet Autumn points from 2002 to 2012. Not currently in use

2011 Louisa Coxson & Emma Quekett

Europe Open Trophy

Winner of the Europe open meeting

Donated by the Europe class in 2015. (A National Class Trophy not an SCSC trophy)

2015: Richard Eagleton (Bexhill SC)

Colburn Trophy

The Colburn Trophy has been in the club since around 1961, originally awarded for Enterprise Class racing,  then for the Cadet Colburn Series from 1988 - 2009

In 2015, awarded to the Junior winner of the Old George Trophy Day, part of the Cannon Series, the original trophy for this event having been lost.

Not awarded since 2016 as the Junior Old George trophy resurfaced...!

2016 Max Buswell & William Farrant
2015 Ali Wallace

420 Trophy

Donated by Andrew & Jo Wallace in 2014 for the 420 Open Meeting

Awarded in 2016 for the 420 Team Racing Series

2016 Ian Bartlett's Team
2014 Will McMahon

The Rowden Trophy

Laser open trophy.  Part of club history since 1969.

Last SCSC Laser Open was in 2016

2016 Jon Ling (Bartley SC)
2015: Ed Higson (Bartley SC)
2014 Ed Higson (Bartley SC)
2013 Jon Ling (Bartley SC)

Old George Junior Trophy

Awarded to the winner of the Junior Old George Trophy Day

(prior to 2016 this trophy had been lost for a while, and uncontested for a number of years - in 2015 the Colburn Cup was awarded to Ali Wallace as winner of this event)

2016 Max Buswell & Will Farrant

Flying Fifteen Open (Captain's Cup)

From 2016 The Captain’s Cup will be presented to the overall winner of the Flying Fifteen Open Meeting

This trophy has a long history with SCSC. It was donated by the SCSC Enterprise Class, and used for the Enterprise Points Series until 1981, then for the 'Cadet of The Year Award' from 1988 to 2005


2017 Bob Tait & Pete Comber (Broxbourne SC)
2016 Alex & Mike Tatlow

Saturday Points Trophy

Cadet helm and crew who achieve the lowest points score over the season's race days.

Part of club history since 1965, perhaps initially for Enterprise Class Racing

2017 Not awarded
2016 Not awarded
2015 Not awarded
2014 Felix & Jack Bowers
2013 Aliya & Aqil Jannaty
2012 Reece Lane & Max Buswell
2011 Matt Sim &...

Best Beginner Cadet Crew

Best new Cadet crew in their first year of crewing

2017 Olivia McMorris
2016 Woody Black
2015 Ethan Miller
2014 Florence Hawker
2013 Emma Sowden
2012 Poppy Redfern
2011 Tima Malikov

Cadet Captain's Award

These awards were introduced by Tim Hampton in 2017

The aim is to recognise perseverance, ability, attitude etc. Awarded at the discretion of the cadet class captain

2017: Bells Barry; Jonty Conway; Olivia Hedges; Jemima McMorriss; Peter Oswell; Thomas Pontet; Elisa Power; Japon Wynn

Cadet Class Captain's Medals

Introduced in the first time in 2017

Awarded at the sole discretion of the Class Captain, to recognise perseverance, ability, attitude and/or general contibutions


2017: Elisa Power; Thomas Pontet; Peter Oswell; Barry Bells; Jacob Wynn; Olivia Hedges; Jonty Conway; Jemima McMorris

SED Trophy (Cadet Season End Day)

Currently awarded to the Cadet helm and crew who achieve the lowest point score on the final race day of the season (October).

Part of club history since 1959, donated by Swindon Engineering Dept Ltd, and initially presented for 'Boats 12' & Under Excluding National 12'

2017:Not Awarded
2016: Fran Neale & Emilia Hampton
2015 Not contested
2014 Felix & Jack Bowers
2013 Ali Wallace & Fran Neale
2012 Will McMahon & Tima...

The Turtle Trophy (Cadet Open)

Awarded to the Overall Winner of the South Cerney Cadet Open

Donated by Stradlings of Cirencester in 1967, probably for the Merlin Rocket Class

2018 Emily Speirs and Hannah Taylor (FPSC)
2017 Finbar Wormwell and George Little (FPSC)
2016 Megan Ferguson & Yasmin Sfaxi (FPSC)
2015 Jamie &...

Penfold Trophy

Cadet helm and crew who achieve the lowest points score over the 1st and 2nd (May and June) race days.

2018 Max Buswell & Monty Hampton
2017 Max Buswell & Will Farrant
2016 Fran Neale & Emilia Hampton
2015 Max Buswell & William Farrant
2014 Aqil...

Wiltshire Trophy (Cadet Open)

Awarded to the first placed SCSC boat in the Cadet open meeting, since 1999.  Donated by Ian Wiltshire.

2018 Max Buswell & Monty Hampton
2017 Max Buswell & Will Farrant
2016 Harry Folkard & Oscar Ballantyne
2015 Aliya Jannaty & Oscar Ballentyne

Henly Cup

Part of Club History since 1960

To be awarded to the winner of the Sunday Morning Frostbite Series from 2015

Frostbite Sunday am Handicap

2017: Richard Leftley
2016: Mike Round
2015: Ian Bartlett

Sunday am Handicap - Spring
2013: Phil O'Nions

Aline Trophy - Junior

The Aline Junior trophy, part of the Cannon series

2018: Not Contested
2017: Max Buswell
2016 Not Contested
2015 Ali Wallace
2014 Aliya & Aqil Jannaty
2013. Catriona Wallace

Olympic Trophy

Olympic Trophy

New Trophy donated by SCSC in 2012 to celebrate Olympic Year

2018: Dave Whittle and Jackie Vale
2017: Chris Jeffries
2016: John Hammond
2015: Andy Miles
2014: Liz Macdonald
2013: Andy Miles
2012: Alex Frost

Asymmetric Open Trophy

Awarded to the winner of the Asymmetric Open, donated by SCSC Asymmetric Class 2011

2018: Kevin Weatherhead (SCSC)
2017: Luke Fisher (Emberton Park SC)
2016: Jeremy Symons (Llandegfedd SC)
2015: Alex & Lewis Frost (ex-SCSC)

Best Home Cadet Crew

A successful Cadet crew who does not, or is not able to, compete away from the club

2019 Ava Roberts
2017 Will Salmon
2016 Emilia Hampton
2015 Olivia Ballentyne
2014 Olivia & Oscar Ballentyne
2013 Rueben Tinto
2012 Rueben Tinto

Best Home Cadet Helm

A successful Cadet helm who does not, or is not able to, compete away from the club

2019 Ben McLoughlin
2017 Olivia Ballentyne
2016 Fran Neale
2015 Felix Bowers
2014 Rowan Connolly
2013 Harry Folkard
2012 Lizzy Wall
2011 Chris...

Flying 15 Open Classic

Awarded to the first placed classic in the Flying Fifteen open meeting. Donated by SCSC FF Class in 2002.

2019 Bob Tait and Peter Comber (Broxbourne)
2017 Brian Turner & Jackie Burns (Broxbourne)
2016 Brian Turner & Jackie Burns (Broxbourne)
2015 Bob Tait...

Attendance Award

For the Cadet sailor who attends the most Saturday sessions over the season.

2019 Emilia Hampton
2017 Francesca Neale
2016 Francesca Neale
2015 Not awarded
2014 Francesca Neale & Lewis Tull
2013 Rowan Connolly
2012 Fiona...

Silver Porringer (Cadet of the Year)

Awarded to the 'Cadet of the Year': The Cadet who has represented 96 Cadet squadron by demonstrating fair sportsmanship and success at a National level. Qualifying events are the 4 UK National Cadet Class Association events (Inlands, Nationals and 2 Indicators).

2019 Emilia Hampton
2017 Max Buswell
2016 Max Buswell
2015 Aliya Jannaty
2014 Aliya Jannaty
2013 Aliya Jannaty
2012 Ali Wallace
2011 Amir Jannaty

Most Improved Cadet Helm

An intermediate Cadet helm who has developed their skills significantly over the season

2019 Ethan Millar
2017 Will Farrant
2016 Olivia Ballantyne
2015 Max Buswell
2014 Harry Folkard
2013 Zak Nicholls
2012 Reece Lane
2011 Sophie Goodrich


Copyright © 2015 South Cerney Sailing Club Limited